the blog is born

Hello I’m Gemma. A full-time working mum to you guessed it, five boys, aged 2-16. I’ve decided to blog about my parenting journey and the retrospectively comical things that happen to me on an almost daily basis. I say retrospectively comical because in the moment the events don’t always feel quite so funny and it’s only on reflection that I can laugh. 

It’s hard being a parent, especially a working one, so I’m hoping that my experiences and the unfortunate sequences of events I encounter (aka my life) will go some way to help others get through their day.

My CV will tell you that I’m an exceptionally organised person but in reality I am the mum that arrives at the school with children in uniform on tag days and makes it to the special ‘Mothers Day Assembly’ a whole day late (yes I did that!). However to date I’ve coordinated something like 8 family holidays, 16 family Christmases and 49 birthday celebrations (and I’m still only 35!) so I feel I have adequate expertise on such matters to help others at least a little.

I’ve certainly tried lots of parenting techniques and tried and tested many products over the years, all of which I’m sure you’ll get to read about.

I’m a tea drinker, over thinker, fence sitter, people pleaser. My ultimate life goals have always been the same, but my plans to achieve them always change. I still think about what I want to be when I grow up.

I refer to my children collectively as the ‘boys’ and although I’m told they all look alike (I can’t see it anymore) their personalities are all very different. I’m very lucky to have five healthy, on the whole happy, and mostly well-behaved kids and at the end of each day when they’re all in bed alive, safe and well I know the day can’t have been that bad right?

If you want to get in touch to talk about my blog, a topic or product, or if you want to work with me please get in touch.

One thought on “the blog is born”

  1. Nice to meet you Gemma! I know the “fun” of boys….but 5! That’s both impressive and crazy! Always good to meet a new blogger and another Kentish one! Good luck and I look forward to reading more! Mr K!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment